Lifetimes

Finally my job has hired me, this has been the first week, and I’m no longer a temp. Feels good not to be a temp and in turn be handed all the paperwork listing a pretty generous set of benefits. So we’ll see how it goes, how everything goes. As a unit, we’re pretty stressed – by exhaustion, lack of time. Hardly anything left of ourselves to dedicate to one another or even the most practical chore.

Roaches, in August, grow strong. My initial thought was: “if we don’t get more aggressive, they’ll get more aggressive.” Turns out, these are some aggressive motherfuckers no matter which way you handle it. Boric acid sound like a good idea? Everyone recommends it. They’re pissed now. They haven’t exactly disappeared like we anticipated.

Grandparents and granddaughters pass by.

“He wears his heart on his sleeve”

He is interested in her prettiness, but not the depth of her. That is someone’s middle name, someone’s “don’t even get me started,” someone’s “story of my life.”

Sing the blues
feel the storm
the wall of someone’s house
is airborne

I am stunned silent
in my observation of…
so many things!

everything?

mostly a student
but when
I open my mouth
in some way
I am a teacher
even
as a jokester

(?)

Irony is alive and well. It carries into my sleep, and I dream of taking off from Houston, only to land ten minutes later in another part of Houston. Traffic is fucked up that way. Will my reoccurring nightmares cease, pulling the endless foam from my mouth?

I am rich and poor all at once.

Don’t carry balloons around any more. I remember if my hand slipped, my balloon would be lost to the sky, how devastating that would be. Lifetimes ago.

Leave a Reply

