Up At The Counter

that year
they set up a birthday
party for me
my whole class came
and we filled up the
back of that restaurant
eating out of
cardboard boxes for little people
we were satisfied enough
One man
perhaps it was
his birthday too
came up to the place
remembering to
bring his gun
and was making
a lot of demands at
the register
he was in quite a hurry
and all the kid’s parents
were nervous
for their lives
oh he did
not bother to
use the door
on the way out
that was that year
in a sense
the beginning
I wound up running
through a few
windows of my own
I suppose out
of curiosity
I could not lock
down solid
on a favorite color
green red blue
black (black is not a color!)
they were all
good to me
my father my father was
absent minded (or absent) never spent
any time with us
a brother or sister was
not on the way
this was the depression
for me
the only child, my syndrome
so now when I face
loneliness
I know what I’m doing
and when you and I
get together make each
other miserable
I wanna crawl back
into a quieted corner
not work any more jobs
I’m ready to retire
go up and sit in booths in the morning
and watch the activity
at the front counter

Leave a Reply

